Service Innovation Award

Sponsored by Hewlett-Packard


The Service Science Society of Australia Service Innovation Award is instituted to recognize organizations that have demonstrated significant innovation in the design and/or delivery of services.

The award is a critical component of the Society’s mission to promote service innovation in all sectors of the Australian economy.

Any organization (but not individuals) may be nominated for the award, including organizations from the government, business and non-profit sectors. The service innovations in question could be internal (i.e., of value to the organizations internal operations) or external (i.e., of value to external stakeholder/customers). The innovations of interest include process innovations (new ways of delivering services), technological or managerial (novel organizational structures, novel interventions to influence organization culture and so on).

The Award Evening was held on Nov. 28th, 2013, in conjunction with the Third Australian Symposium on Services Research and Innovation - Australia's premier event for service innovation professionals.

Nominations were judged on two criteria: novelty and impact.

The Award



Service NSW

Glenn King
Connecting citizens and businesses with NSW Govt.

Alive Mobile

Luke Harvey-Palmer
Engineering better business processes and useful applications that stay alive.


Hamish Petrie
Tearing down taxi monopoly through an integrated taxi booking/payments/settlement service.


Andrew Ward
Empowering investors through social networking community.


Roger Seow
Social Media Command Centre as the vehicle for NAB's transformation into a Social Enterprise.


Chris Mendes

Australia Post

Marina Vaxman
"Video Stamp - Why send a gift when you can send yourself too?"

Dept. of Employment

Philip Siu
Employment Services System (ESS) assisting employment service providers to support long-term unemployed persons.


Kareem Al-Bassam
PayPal digital wallet - transforming in-store customer experience.


Paul Paoliello
Delivering "in the moment" commerce experience.


Yeasir Abrar
Re-inventing labor investment process - innovating service design and delivery in workforce analytics.


Winner : Ingogo
1st runner-up : NAB
2nd runner-up: Service NSW

The Award


Professor Aditya Ghose

President, Service Science Society of Australia; Director, Decision Systems Lab, School of Computer Science and Software Engg., University of Wollongong.

Professor Fethi Rabhi

School of Computer Science and Engineering, UNSW.

Geof Heydon

Business Development Manager, CSIRO Digital Productivity and Services Flagship

The Award


The award was held in the Fort Macquarie Room at the InterContinental Sydney 117 Macquarie St in Sydney on the 28 November 2013. Below are photos from the night.

Cocktails and Networking

Welcome & Sponsor

Presentation by Award Finalists

Speech by the Guest of Honor

Award Results and Presentation

Sponsored by