Fifth Australasian Symposium on Service Research and Innovation (ASSRI’15)




Fifth Australasian Symposium on Service Research and Innovation (ASSRI'15)

to be held at the School of Information Technologies,

The University of Sydney

February 18-19, 2016


Best Paper Award

sponsored by

International Society of Service Innovation Professionals



Click here to view the conference program


Information Technology is a fundamental enabler of today’s service economy. There is also a growing recognition of the critical role of digital service innovation in improving productivity levels and quality of life. Further technological paradigms such as web services, the internet of things, cloud computing, social computing, and engagement platforms are redefining the landscape of service. This has brought increased policy and research focus to the conceptualisation, design, delivery, and evaluation of service systems.

 The fifth Australasian Symposium on Service Research and Innovation will bring together a cross-disciplinary group of researchers and practitioners who are engaged in research and development in the area of service, broadly defined. It will feature keynote addresses and invited lectures by prominent researchers in the field. There will also be paper sessions to which researchers are invited to submit their recent work. A public sector and industry forum featuring some of the academic researchers and practitioners in industry and government will also be a part of the symposium. The symposium is expected to provide a forum for analyzing and assessing the progress achieved in pursuit of this goal and to explore the foundations of and emerging directions in service research. 

The symposium is sponsored by the Service Science Society of Australia. This is the apex national body representing the services research community of Australia. It seeks to promote the understanding and use of service science in government, industry and academia. The Australasian Symposium on Service Research and Innovation series also serves as its annual meeting.


Paper submissions should be limited to a maximum of 15 pages in the Springer LNBIP format (see link), and will be reviewed by the Program Committee on the basis of overall quality, relevance to service research, originality, significance, and clarity. Please submit papers through EasyChair. ASSRI proceedings are traditionally published under the Springer LNBIP series.

An award of $500 will be presented to the authors of the best paper as determined by the Program Committee Chairs. The award is sponsored by ISSIP

TOPICS OF INTEREST (but not limited to)

●Service Level Agreements (SLAs and Contracts)      

●Healthcare-related services   




●Service science          

●Smart services           

●Service computing and web services

●Service market-places           


●Service system design           

●Service marketplaces

●Service system engineering   

●Service technologies  

●Value co-creation in service systems

●Service marketing and CRM   


General Chairs:

Joseph Davis 
Aditya Ghose 

Program Chairs:
Amit Chopra 
Christoph Breidbach 

Publicity Chairs:
Mohammedreza Mohaghegian
Simon Poon

Industry Chairs:
Olivera Marjanovic
Renu Agarwal

Web Chair
Evan Morrison, University of Wollongong

Program Committee (partial list):
Dr Daniel Beverungen, University of Muenster/European Research Center for Information Systems
Dr Jens Poeppelbuss, University of Bremen in Germany,
Renu Agarwal, UTS Sydney
Don Allen, CISCO Systems, USA
Ralph Badinelli, Virginia Tech
Boualem Benatallah, UNSW
Charlie Bess, HP
Athman Bouguettaya, RMIT
Nirmit Desai, IBM Research India
Schahram Dustdar, TU Wien
Dragan Gasevic, Athabasca University
Aditya Ghose, University of Wollongong
Bill Hefley, University of Pittsburgh
Byron Keating, University of Canberra
Ryszard Kowalczyk, Swinburne University of Technology
Yassi Moghaddam
Surya Nepal, CSIRO
Matti Rossi, Aalto University School of Economics
Hye-Young Paik, University of New South Wales
Simon Poon, University of Sydney
Babis Theodoulidis, Manchester Business School
Alberta Zomaya, University of Sydney
Important Dates:




Paper submission deadline: 6 December, 2015 
Author Notification: 15 January, 2016 
Camera Ready deadline: 22 January, 2016 
Conference Registration deadline: 26 January, 2016 
Conference Dates: 18-19 Febuary 2016